Humidor Breaks Scottsville Course Record

Humidor (Miesque's Approval - Lewinsky's Lover) / Gold Circle (p)

Keith Russon
What an exciting race result for Backworth Sunday afternoon at Scottsville! Backworth-bred Humidor won in style over 1200m, breaking Kildonan’s course record. Humidor’s race record now stands at 3 wins in a row, and a 4th from just 4 starts!
— Keith Russon

David Thiselton writes that Humidor, the Tony Rivalland-trained Miesque’s Approval gelding, officially lowered Grade 1 winner Kildonan’s 1200m Scottsville course record on Sunday with the yard aiming Humidor at the Grade 1 Tsogo Sun Sprint.

The four-year-old ran off only a 77 merit as there was a year’s layoff between his debut as a three-year-old and his second start. He won his comeback run in good style in October last year and was given the maximum merit rating for a four-year-old maiden winner of 70. He followed up with a three length victory over the same course and distance in January which earned him a seven point hike.

On Sunday he powered into the lead from the off, from a wide draw, and his relentless gallop looked effortless. Anton Marcus only had to get to work in the final 200m and this bull of a horse had enough in the tank to keep the late charge of the Garth Puller-trained Fortissimo at bay.

Humidor clocked a time of 66,98 seconds, thus beating the course record of 67 seconds flat set by the Mike de Kock-trained Kildonan when winning one of the strongest Grade 1 Golden Horse Casino Sprints of all time, beating three other Grade 1 winners in Mythical Flight, War Artist and Rebel King.

Humidor, who was bred by Backworth Stud, runs in the colours of Mary Liley and is also owned by IM and MG Horsfield, GN Cumming, I Deetlefs, AS Potts and Rivalland himself.

Assistant trainer Terry Fripp revealed that a race like the Grade 2 Senor Santa Handicap over 1200m at Turffontein on March 26 might be looked at in order to qualify Humidor for the Tsogo Sun Sprint, which was formerly known as the Golden Horse Casino Sprint set to be run on June 6.