Equus Awards 2013 : Congratulations to our Champions!

Equus Awards 2013Equus Awards 2013
(Photo : JC Photos / Summerhill Stud)

South African Horseracing Season

The entire Backworth team wishes to take this opportunity to congratulate all our Equus Champions for the 2012/13 South African Racing Season!

And what a season it turned out to be with one of the most excting finales in recent history as both the Trainers and Breeders Championships went down to the wire, with jet-setting Mike de Kock and fellow KwaZulu-Natal breeder Summerhill Stud pipping contemporaries Vodacom Durban July victor Sean Tarry and Cape-based Klawervlei Stud repectively.

The International Achievement Award fell to Group 1 Al Quoz Sprint winner, Shea Shea, and the Outstanding Stallion Achievement deservedly went to young stallion sensation, Judpot, standing at Varsfontein Stud in partnership with the internationally renowned Niarchos Family.

Our team also wishes to acknowledge the fine efforts of all connections of Horse of the Year, Variety Club, the wonder miler who was unbeaten in five races over the year including the Grade 1 L’Ormarins Queen’s Plate and the Grade 1 Rising Sun Gold Challenge.

Another fantastic season down… and here’s to an even greater 2013/14!

Keith and Ian

Emperors Palace
14 August 2013

International Achievement Award
Shea Shea
Champion Two-Year-Old Colt
Champion Two-Year-Old Filly
Along Came Polly
Champion Three-Year-Old Colt
Champion Three-Year-Old Filly
Cherry On The Top
Champion Older Male
Variety Club
Champion Older Filly / Mare
Beach Beauty
Champion Sprinter (1000m - 1200m)
What a Winter
Champion Miler (1400m - 1600m)
Variety Club
Champion Middle-Distance (1400m - 2200m)
Heavy Metal
Champion Stayer (2400m+)
Jeppe’s Reef
Champion Stallion
Silvano - Maine Chance Farms
Champion Broodmare
Akinfeet - Lammerskraal Stud
Champion Breeder
Summerhill Stud
Outstanding Stallion Achievement
Judpot - Varsfontein Stud
Breeder Award - Exceptional International Achievement
Shea Shea - Klawervlei
Media Award - Print
David Thiselton
Media Award - Television
Jimmy Lithgow
Apprentice of the Year
Nooresh Juglall
Champion Jockey
Piere Strydom
Champion Trainer
Mike de Kock
Owners of the Year
Ingrid and Markus Jooste
Horse Of The Year
Variety Club